Town honours dynamic and inspirational young duo

Ryan Browne receives his award
Ryan Browne receives his award

Two inspirational youngsters have had their tireless community work officially recognised.

Ryan Browne and Emily Christopher received awards at Dunstable’s 29th Annual Town Meeting at Creasey Park Community Football Centre last week.

Town Mayor Councillor John Chatterley told the Gazette it was “quite inspiring that this year’s awards went to young people who are actively involved in helping to make Dunstable a better place to live, work and visit”.

The first Community Involvement Award went to Ryan, who volunteers for the Travel Choices Hub.

He helps visitors to the Hub with directions, information and advice.

He also assists at special events and passes on his passion for cycling to all ages through his involvement in Dr Bike sessions and led cycle rides.

The second Community Involvement Award was given to Emily, who volunteers her time in not one but two organisations.

She goes the extra mile in her support to the Brownies, helping to organise and run special events as well as supporting sessions and individuals who need a little extra assistance.

Emily also regularly volunteers at the British Heart Foundation shop in Dunstable. She is very highly thought of in both of these roles and is an inspiration to others.

Ryan and Emily were presented with their awards by the Mayor and Deputy Mayor, Councillor Terry Stock.

The presentations were made at a meeting the Town Council is required by law to call between March 1 and June 1 to give all lelectors of the Parish of Dunstable the chance to ask questions.

The meeting may discuss any town affairs and is not just confined to the functions of the Town Council.

Speaker for the evening was Trevor Saunders, assistant director of planning with Central Bedfordshire Council, who gave a presentation on the strategic infrastructure plans for Dunstable.

After an informative talk and resulting questions, the agenda turned to Dunstable’s young people and the 7th Annual Achievement Awards.