Election candidates confirmed across Central Beds

Editorial image
Editorial image

A total of 159 candidates will be vying for 59 seats on Central Bedfordshire Council in next month’s election.

That is after the deadline for candidates to withdraw from the race passed on Thursday.

Only one seat, Heath and Reach, is uncontested, with incumbent Cllr Mark Versallion the only person standing in the ward.

There are 318 candidates will standing for election for the 191 contested seats on town and parish councils across Central Bedfordshire, while 65 other town and parish council seats are uncontested.

The candidates for the parliamentary elections include seven for the Mid Bedfordshire constituency, five for South West Bedfordshire, five for North East Bedfordshire and seven candidates for Luton South.

The full list of candidates contesting the parliamentary, Central Bedfordshire and town and parish elections on May 7 can be viewed at www.centralbedfordshire.gov.uk/elections

For instructions on how to register to vote and details of the locations of polling stations, go to www.centralbedfordshire.gov.uk/elections

Residents will also be given the opportunity on May 7 to vote in a referendum on the Police and Crime Commissioner’s council tax precept. This is the share of the total council tax bill that will go to the Commissioner, and the referendum will ask residents to vote yes or no to an increase of 15.8 per cent in the proportion of the bill specifically covering policing.

Anyone not registered to vote must do so by Monday, April 20 by going online at www.gov.uk/register-to-vote

Richard Carr, Electoral Registration Officer and Chief Executive of Central Bedfordshire Council, said: “With elections less than a month away and the deadline for registration fast approaching, we would urge anyone not yet registered to vote to do so as soon as possible.

“A vote is an opportunity to have your say on issues that affect you locally and nationally, both in the short term and in the years to come.”