Praise for police staff at awards

Five Beds Police volunteers are among 20 police staff and officers who were honoured at the force's annual Staff Awards ceremony, held at Woburn Sculpture Gallery last week.

Thursday, 31st March 2016, 6:43 am

Beds Police is the first force in the country to delegate the policing of football games to the Special Constabulary, and Special Constable of the Year was awarded to Special Inspector Krissy Mullen for her work in this area.

Assistant Chief Officer of the Special Constabulary, Clint Sharp, nominated Krissy for recognition and said: “Krissy takes personal pride in ensuring that the policing of each Luton home game is carried out to the highest standard. She also manages a very busy team of Specials in Luton, helping to protect people, fight crime and keep Bedfordshire safe. As with most Special Constables Krissy has a full time job, but her commitment to the Special Constabulary is exemplary.”

Josh Wise, 17, and Lauren Kirkup, 18, were joint winners of the Police Cadet of the Year award. Sarah Caves, the force’s Cadet Administrator, said: “Both Lauren and Josh are worthy winners; their commitment to Bedfordshire’s Police Cadets is second to none. It has been particularly rewarding to watch them both grow into confident young people and to help them develop transferable skills which will stand them both in good stead for the future.

“Josh has now been appointed as a Section Leader and has taken on this role with professionalism and the utmost pride. And Lauren is now a Cadet Support Volunteer and a welcome addition to the leadership team.”

The Volunteer of the Year Award was shared by Lauren Jackson and PC Kevin Harris.

PC Harris received his award for his efforts to ensure the force can continue to provide its Cadet programme in Luton. PC Harris dedicates two evenings a week to the Luton Cadet Unit.

Lauren joined the force as a volunteer to help develop the force’s Dog Watch scheme.

Other winners included:

Police Officer of the Year – PC Tim Smart, PCSO of the Year – Claire Fryer, Student Officer of the Year – PC Shelley Cannon, Police Staff Employee of the Year – Margaret Tory and Tracy Hall, PCC Confident Communities Awards – Community Cohesion, Leadership Charter Award – Sgt Dick Doggrell, Communities Champion of the Year – Steve Smith, People Champion of the Year – DCI Liz Mead, Partnerships Champion of the Year – DS Grant Maxted, Productivity Champion of the Year – Dave Williams, Collaborative Champion of the Year – Mohammed Alomgir, Wellbeing Champion Award – DCI Juliette Everett, Victim Satisfaction Award – Public Protection Unit, PC Jon Henry Shield – PC Chris Conneely.