Shah's ton sets up Indians' win

Luton Town and Indians' grip on a Saracens Herts League Championship promotion place increased to 26 points as they beat table-topping Letchworth by 72 runs on Saturday thanks to Akash Shah's first century since 2011.

Wednesday, 20th July 2016, 11:00 am
Updated Thursday, 25th August 2016, 6:58 pm

Indians had collapsed to 45-3, but Shah then hit a magnificent 103, with support from Dhaval Naik (32) and Dhruv Patel (23) as his side posted 191.

Mohammed Irshad then ripped through Letchworth taking 5-31, while Sachin Wagh claimed 3-28 as Letchworth were dismissed for 119.

The IIs were held to a draw by Letchworth IIs in Division Three B. Zainul Abadeen’s 4-49 restricted Letchworth to 193-9 whilst Divyesh Patel and Gurpreet Singh took two wickets apiece.

Badal Naik top scored with 65 in Luton’s reply, while Jessen Patel made 41, but Luton could only reach 189-8.

The IIIs (219-8) beat Clifton (174) by 45 runs in Division Five B, with the IVs held by Pirton in Division Eight A.

Indians made 216-8 as Viren Patel hit 52, while Bashir Dalvi (29) and Gagan Kashyap (23) added runs.

Ricky Patel’s 3-50 and Dharmesh Mistry’s 2-35 then restricted Pirton to 206-8.

On Sunday, Luton Town & Indians slumped to a six wicket defeat at second-bottom Eversholt in the Beds County League Premier Division.

Sachin Wagh hit 74 from just 66 balls, before Jessen Patel (41no) and Dhruv Patel (33) saw Indians make 251-7.

Asif Hussain took 2-34 in reply, but Eversholt reached 255-4 with three balls to spare.

The IIs lost by 27 runs to Clifton in Division Two.

Zahid Khan took three wickets before Ricky Patel claimed 3-40 and Gagan Kashyap 2-42 to bowl Clifton out for 211.

Karanjit Singh (64no), Silus Charles (30) and Khan (28) were the only contributors as Luton fell to 184 all out.

The IIIs beat Sharnrook by five wickets after bowling their hosts out for 156 thanks to Mohammed Qamar’s (3-17) with two wickets for Samsher Singh and Abdul Basit Yasin.

Maicol Javed anchored Luton’s chase with 59, while Tegbir Singh (29) and Yousuf Alim (20 no) saw them reach 157-5.

The IVs beat Elstow by 34 runs in Division Five. Daniel Gould (40), Mohammed Adnan (35) and Harisman Jit Singh (26) saw Indians to 164 all out, while Hani Thiarra (3-17) and Jamie Williams (3-6) had Elstow dismissed for 130.