Blues fall to heavy defeat at Ware

Pre-season friendly: Ware 5 Dunstable Town 1

Monday, 18th July 2016, 12:48 pm
Updated Thursday, 25th August 2016, 5:06 pm
Anthony Leslie in action for Dunstable Town at the weekend - pic: Chris White

A new-look Dunstable Town began their pre-season campaign with a 5-1 defeat against Ryman Division One North side Ware at the weekend.

Boss Tony Fontanelle chose a side that contained just five Blues players who were at the club last season, as the visitors fell a goal down early on as Nathan Makuna found the net.

Dunstable then looked to draw level as Marcus McKechnie’s shot was wide, while Wilson Ferrera showed pace and imagination, firing just over the top.

Adam Pepera on the ball for Dunstable - pic: Chris White

However, Ware made it 2-0 on 15 minutes when Gareth Price tapped home from close range, before the Blues reduced the arrears after half an hour, when Danny Talbot netted a trademark free-kick from just outside the area, following a foul on Jack Hutchinson.

The hosts continued to press though as Josh Oyibo forced Bart Pedrycz into a save, with Anton Goss shooting over, while Lewis Wilson missed the target for Dunstable, as Hutchinson was denied by keeper Kyle Forster.

In the second half, the Blues made five changes, including Gary Wharton, with Hutchinson seeing his lob drift narrowly over the top.

However, a glaring defensive error from Dunstable saw Jordan Gill make it 3-1., with the hosts adding further strikes though Jonathan Constan (73) and Jack Mace’s penalty with seven minutes to go.

Adam Pepera on the ball for Dunstable - pic: Chris White

Dunstable travel to New Bradwell St Peter on Tuesday night and then visit Arlesey Town on Saturday.

Ware: Kyle Forster, Jack Mace, Boris Kostov, Jason Coughlan, Marcus Rose, Murat Karagul, Anton Gross, Josh Oyibo, Jonathan Costan, Gareth Price, Nathan Makuna, Brian Haule, Dani Borraeiro, George Essuman, Jordan Gill, Justin Leaversw, Joe Simmonds, Ali Setireku, Ryan Hervel.

Dunstable: Bart Pedrycz, Zack Reynolds, Kyle Lincoln, Danny Talbot, Marcus McKechnie, Adam Pepera, Jack Hutchinson, David Longe-King, Jay Knight, Lewis Wilson, Wilson Ferraro, Max Risby, Connor McMillan, Joseph Debayo, Gedeon Okito, Adam Moussi, Anthony Leslie, Gary Wharton, Kelvin Osei-Addo.