Keenleyside strikes late on as Blues climb to fourth

Action from Dunstable Town v Hungerford Town
Action from Dunstable Town v Hungerford Town

Evo-Stik Southern League Premier Division: Dunstable Town 1 Hungerford Town 0

Dunstable Town climbed to fourth in the Southern League Premier Division after a narrow victory over fellow play-off hopefuls Hungerford Town at the weekend.

The Blues were thankful to David Keenleyside’s stoppage time goal for their 1-0 triumph as they are now unbeaten in five matches.

Former Hayes & Yeading defender Howard Hall made his debut for the hosts, while the match was the last for veteran goalkeeper Paul Bastock, who is leaving the club to play for AFC Stamford, as the Lincolnshire Conference side is much closer to his home in Boston.

The game began in a similar fashion to the Dunstable’s last home match against Hitchin as they struggled to make the breakthrough, Hungerford going closest, Scott Reece shooting just wide from range.

With Adam Watkins outstanding once more in midfield, the Blues’ best effort saw Victor Osobu put an effort over the bar.

Hungerford almost went in front when Nat Jarvis’ attempt was deflected behind for a corner, while Osobu was off target again with his header from a free kick.

After the break, Dunstable could only mount some sporadic pressure, although Connor Calcutt and Adam Watkins had half chances, while Danny Talbot’s free kick was easy for keeper Paul Strudley.

Both sides then hit the woodwork as Keenleyside’s excellent free kick struck an upright, as did Jarvis’ deadball attempt moments later.

However, Keenleyside was to have the final word as Calcutt charged down the ball on the left flank and his fine pass allowed the substitute to curl the ball into the bottom corner.

Dunstable travel to mid-table Leamington this weekend.

Dunstable: Paul Bastock, Zack Reynolds, Howard Hall, Danny Talbot, James Kaloczi, Adam Pepera, Adam Watkins, Steve Wales (David Keenleyside 67), Connor Calcutt, Steven Gregory, Victor Osobu, (Gary Wharton 80).

Subs not used: Lee Roache, Chris Vardy.

Hungerford: Paul Strudley, Gary Horgan, Diak John, Jon Boardman, Matt Day, captain, James Rusby, Rhys Tyler, Scott Rees, Nat Jarvis, James Clark, Garyn Preen (Harry Goodger 67).

Subs not used: Mike Jones, Stefan Brown, Ian Hearing, Mark Draycott.

Attendance: 161.