ATHLETICS: Deed victorious once more at John O’Callaghan race

Katie Gibbons, Michelle Morris and Liz Rollinson
Katie Gibbons, Michelle Morris and Liz Rollinson

The first race in the Luton Rotary Club sponsored Luton AC Summer Road Race Series took place on Sunday morning, the John O’Callaghan Memorial Five mile race.

In a field of 120 runners, Darren Deed led from start to finish recording 24.51mins on the undulating five mile course.

The race started 23 years ago in honour of popular Luton coach O’Callaghan who supported many local runners including Deed, 37, who has won the event for the past 13 years.

Following in his wake was Chris Norman from Leighton Buzzard AC in 29.34mins, with Dunstable Road Runners’ Lee Murphy in third.

In the Ladies race was another convincing win from Michelle Morris (Ampthill and Flitwick Flyers) in 33.42mins followed home by Katie Gibbons (Dunstable) in 35.39mins and Liz Rollinson (Stopsley Striders) 35.46mins.

Steven Upton (Ampthill) took both the Masters and County Championship titles, with the Junior titles going to Luke King (Luton AC).

Other age category winners were David Cox (Bedford Harriers) V45, David Coney V50, Stephen Faulkner V55, Patrick Ellerbeck (Riverside Road Runners) V60, Ian Sage (Dunstable) V65, Anthony Wilmoth V70 and PJ Hough (Stopsley) V75.

Additional County Championship winners were Stephen Stanley (Ampthill) V50, Dave Thomson V55 and Lance Richardson (Stopsley Striders) V60.

The Ladies age group and County winners were Teresa Warren (Dunstable) V45, Keri Withers (Ampthill) V50 and Jackie Keenan (Bedford Harriers) V65, as Julie Simmons (Fairlands Valley Spartans) won the V55 category.

The next race in the Series, the Wardown Park 5k, takes place at 11am this Sunday, with entries on the day.